My Love/Hate Relationship with the Lord’s Supper

29 Aug

I have found that I have a love/hate relationship with the Lord’s Supper. Pacific Crossroads Church – one of the churches that Linda and I are prayerfully considering to plant roots in – celebrates the Lord’s Supper every Sunday at the 9:00 a.m. service.

And, perhaps because at our previous church the Lord’s Supper was celebrated so infrequently, taking part in communion every week has made me aware of something that I hadn’t noticed that much before, namely, how uncomfortable I get before taking part in communion.

Let me explain: in one way or another, as the pastor approaches the table and explains the meaning of the Lord’s Supper, I am made deeply aware of my sins from the previous week. What makes this even more perplexing is the fact that I know the Gospel.

That is, I know (intellectually) that it’s not what I do or don’t do, but what Christ has done that saves me. I mean, this is what I preached to my students week in and week out.

And yet, I found that this reaction was disturbingly almost instinctual. Being made aware of my sins, my shortcomings, and my failings from the previous week, I find myself thinking, “I shouldn’t take part in this…”

This is what I mean when I say that I “hate” the Lord’s Supper.

But, then, by God’s grace – at that moment – I’m reminded of the glorious Truth that God didn’t love me when I cleaned myself up; but rather, He loved me precisely when I couldn’t.

I remember in one of Tim Keller’s sermons, he said that the Lord’s Supper was a visual representation of the Gospel and that it was absolutely necessary to take part in it because it is so easy for us to forget it.

This is absolutely true. No matter how much I think that I know the Gospel, it’s become very clear that one of the greatest battles that we face in this life is the fight to remember it, week by week, day by day.

And one of the ways that I believe we do that is by celebrating the Lord’s Supper as frequently as possible, remembering that it is meant for sinners.

One Response to “My Love/Hate Relationship with the Lord’s Supper”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Things I Tend to Forget (That I Wish I Wouldn’t) | One Pilgrim's Progress - August 30, 2011

    […] One Pilgrim's Progress anything and everything Skip to content HomeAbout ← My Love/Hate Relationship with the Lord’s Supper […]

Leave a Reply

