Running and Theological Reflections

18 Jul

For those who don’t know, I’m currently training for the 2011 Long Beach Half-Marathon that’s coming up this October. And, to my surprise, there have been several times where I caught myself doing theological reflection on some aspect of running/training.

For example, one of the things I do toward the end of every training run – when I can see the end near – is I muster up all of the energy I have left and try to sprint to the finish line. There’s something about anticipating the end of the run that gets me excited.

And then recently, after my most recent training run, I found myself praying and asking God to give me the grace to feel that same sense of excitement and anticipation when I see the finish line of this present life draw close.

Leave a Reply

