“This is God’s gift to me.”

5 Jul

There are only a few blogposts (out of the hundreds that I read in a week) that leave a strong impression on me; this one’s one of them. In it, Gavin Ortlund shares with us a memory that his grandmother shared of his grandfather. Here’s an excerpt from the post:

One of the most memorable things that she shared with us was about Grandad’s struggle with pulmonary fibrosis, and she gave me permission to mention it on this blog because I thought it would bless others.  Pulmonary fibrosis causes painful bouts where you feel like you are drowning because you cannot get enough oxygen.  During these terrible times, which could last up to 15 minutes, Grandma shared that Grandad was in the habit of saying – to himself and to her – “this is God’s gift to me.”

Gavin’s grandfather, by God’s grace, was able to say this in those moments life was really difficult. I pray that God would grant me the same grace, even in the “small” things.

Leave a Reply

