Link Between Sinful Desires and Doubt?

26 Jun

Many months back, God was pleased to send me through a season of intense intellectual and spiritual doubts. But, by His grace, he sent many helpful people and resources my way so that it no longer poses the same amount of threat to my faith as it did when I was in the midst of it.

But all to say, perhaps because I went through it, I am now so much more sensitive to the temptations to doubt than before and thus, am able to catch the Enemy “in the act.” For instance, here was a conversation  that played out in my mind today:

Holy Spirit: “This particular area of your life isn’t in line with the truth of the Gospel. You know that that particular sin isn’t glorifying to God or for your joy.”

Me: “I know. Forgive me. I know that this particular command you have given me in Your Word is for Your glory and my joy. Empower me now, by Your Spirit, to trust You at Your word and obey You.”

The Enemy: “How are you so sure that this is God’s Word?”

At which point, I proceeded to extinguish the firey darts of the Enemy with the many arguments I learned from many different places.

But, more than anything, I was taken aback by this seeming link between my sinful desire and intellectual doubts. That is, why is it that right when I agree with the Spirit that a particular sin is sin, right alongside it, there’s this temptation to doubt the veracity of Christianity? Hmm.

Thoughts:

1. I’m reminded of this verse: “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?” – Jeremiah 17:9

2. And this verse: “The serpent was the shrewdest of all the wild animals the LORD God had made. One day he asked the woman, “Did God really say you must not eat the fruit from any of the trees in the garden?” – Genesis 3:1. I knew that other voice to doubt God’s Word sounded familiar…….

God, save me from my own heart and from the Enemy.

Leave a Reply

