The Start of a New Book

21 Nov

I’ve gotten too many questions in the past few weeks with regards to the proper role of emotions and faith. Going to read this book, When I Don’t Desire God: How to Fight for Joy by John Piper to get an idea of how to begin to answer that question. If the rest of the book is as good as the intro, I’ll definitely start putting more quotes up here as I go. But here’s a quick excerpt:

The discovery was devastating to me. It still is. I was made to know and enjoy God. I was freed by the doctrine of Christian Hedonism (“God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him”) to pursue that knowledge and that joy with all my heart. And then, to my dismay, I discovered that it is not an easy doctrine. Christian Hedonism  is not a lower of the bar. Out of the blue, as it were, I realized that the bar had been raised. Manageable, duty-defined, decision-oriented, willpower Christianity now seemed easy, and real Christianity had become impossible. The emotions – or affections, as former generations called them – which I was now free to enjoy, proved to be beyond my reach. The Christian life became impossible. That is, it became supernatural.

I would encourage all two of you who read this to download the free pdf and join me in this venture.

Leave a Reply

