Random Reflection (Sept. 10, 2010)

10 Sep

“Now in putting everything in subjection to him, he left nothing outside his control.” – Heb 2:9

More and more, God has been gracious in revealing to me just how self-reliant I really am.  Whenever a conflict in my life arises, my first reaction, rather than trusting that God is in control of the situation (Heb 2:9, Prov. 3:5-6, Prov. 19:21, Rom. 8:28, etc), is to think, “Alright, now, how am I going to fix this problem?”

I think it’s safe to say that the root cause behind this – namely, trusting in myself to fix the problems in my life – is because I simply do not trust God as much as I should.  And this, in turn, stems from the fact that I don’t know God as much as I should.

Prayer:

Heavenly Father, I ask that you would continue to reveal more of who you are and what you are like as I pour over your Word.  More than simply as a list of things to do (and not do), open my eyes so that I might see every page of your Word as a revelation of who you are so that, through your Son, I might learn to, on a daily basis, trust you.

My prayer is that you will make make me into the man that you describe in Psalm 112:6-7 (“For the righteous will never be moved… his heart is firm, trusting in the LORD.  His heart is steady; he will not be afraid…”) for your glory and my joy.  It’s only by your Son’s precious name that I make this request.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

