Random Reflection (Sept. 9, 2010)

9 Sep

“For the grace of God has appeared… training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age…” (Titus 2:11-12)

What God has been exposing about the wickedness of my heart through this verse:

  • I am not content with the “slow” pace with which God is sanctifying me and so therefore, I constantly try to take matters into my own hands and think that, by my will-power, I will (as if I even could) fix the areas in my life that I feel need fixing.

What God has been teaching me through this verse:

  • To constantly focus on the breadth of Christ’s accomplishment on the cross for me and trust that His Spirit (whom God has given me through my union with Christ) will slowly (but surely) conform my life to the pattern of Jesus Christ.

My recurring prayer as of late (an adaptation of 1 Peter 4:10-11):

  • God, supply me with the strength that only you can supply in order that in everything you may be glorified through Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

