Reflections on My Marriage…

18 Mar

No, I’m not married… yet.  But that wedding is coming up soon, as well (23 days!).  No… the marriage I’m referring to is my marriage to Christ.  Now, when describing my relationship with Christ, the word husband is the last thing that comes to mind.  Savior, King, Lord, Redeemer – now, these titles I can wrap my head around.  But husband?!  Uh… no.

But this quarter, in my Medieval/Reformation History class (which was perhaps one of the best classes I’ve taken, thus far), I came across a little treatise by Martin Luther called The Freedom of a Christian.  And in it, Martin Luther, expounding Ephesians 5:25-30, uses an imagery to describe our relationship to Christ that I have not been able to shake – that of Christ as our husband. And the more I reflect on it, the more my affections for Christ grows.

I wanted to share it with all two of you guys who actually read this.  May it bless you as it did me:

The third incomparable grace of faith is this, that it unites the soul to Christ, as the wife to the husband; by which mystery, as the Apostle teaches, Christ and the soul are made one flesh.

Now if they are one flesh, and if a true marriage– nay, by far the most perfect of all marriages–is accomplished between them (for human marriages are but feeble types of this one great marriage), then it follows that all they have becomes theirs in common, as well good things as evil things; so that whatsoever Christ possesses, that the believing soul may take to itself and boast of as its own, and whatever belongs to the soul, that Christ claims as his.

If we compare these possessions, we shall see how inestimable is the gain.

Christ is full of grace, life, and salvation; the soul is full of sin, death, and condemnation.

Let faith step in, and then sin, death, and hell will belong to Christ, and grace, life, and salvation to the soul.

For, if he is a husband, he must needs take to himself that which is his wife’s, and, at the same time, impart to his wife that which is his.

For, in giving her his own body and himself, how can he but give her all that is his?

And, in taking to himself the body of his wife, how can he but take to himself all that is hers?

Leave a Reply

