Luke Stamps: "My Christ: Finding Objective Assurance in the Gospel"

11 Feb

Much akin to J.D. Greear’s post titled, “How Can I Know I’m Saved?” Luke Stamps wrote an entry on The Gospel Coalition blog titled, “My Christ: Finding Objective Assurance in the Gospel” in which he offers these words:

The ultimate ground of our assurance does not lie inside of us but outside of us—indeed, above us, seated at the right hand of the Father. So, when death and hell tempt us to doubt our salvation or to live in perpetual guilt over forgiven sin, our answer to the enemy’s accusations is never, “My righteousness,” but always, “My Christ.

He also offers a very helpful quote from Martin Luther in his treatise On the Freedom of a Christian.  I’m currently reading this in my Medieval/Reformation History class.  It has helped me so much in regards to this subject, namely what exactly is faith and what does it mean to live in freedom in light of that faith?  I would highly recommend it.

You can read the entire article here.

One Response to “Luke Stamps: "My Christ: Finding Objective Assurance in the Gospel"”

  1. Syclarbable March 22, 2010 at 3:57 AM #

    i truthfully enjoy all your posting type, very attractive.
    don’t give up and keep writing mainly because it simply just worth to read it.
    excited to view much more of your current posts, stunning day 🙂

Leave a Reply

