How to Read the Bible

27 Oct

One of the things that I’m consistently confronted with in my conversations with people is the question, “How exactly, am I supposed to read the Bible?”  John Piper, in his latest blog post on his website articulates in an embarrassingly better way than I ever did (or ever will) what is “One of the Most Important Principles in Reading the Bible.”  Here’s a quick excerpt from it.  He says this:

This is one of the most basic things people need to see about the Bible. It is full of conditions we must meet for God’s blessings. But God does not leave us to meet them on our own. The first and decisive work before and in our willing is God’s prior grace. Without this insight, hundreds of conditional statements in the Bible will lead us astray.

Amen and amen.  This is exactly what I’ve failed to see my whole life before the Gospel took root in my heart, namely, that my whole life has been about trying to meet those conditions by my own abilities (i.e. “Just read the Bible as many times as you can, and then you’ll receive [fill in the blank] or “Just pray a lot and then, you’ll receive [fill in the blank]).

Oh how wrong I’ve been.  The first step to “growth” is to recognize that no matter how hard I try, I can’t meet those conditional statements, but thank God for Jesus Christ that he has met all of those conditions for me on the cross (2 Corinthians 5:21).  And now, in light of that Truth, out of a sense of grateful joy, I want to, by the grace of God, pursue those conditions.

Again, here’s the link to the full article.

Leave a Reply

