Symptoms of Not Living a Cross-Centered Life

8 Oct

I recently purchased a book by C.J. Mahaney titled Living the Cross-Centered Life: Keeping the Gospel the Main Thing.  The thought that keeps recurring in my mind as I read through every single chapter is: “Where has this book been all my life?”  I feel as though I could have avoided so many painful mistakes had I read this earlier on in my life.

In the book, C.J Mahaney lists several symptoms in our lives that may indicate that the cross has been, as D.A. Carson writes in his book The Cross and Christian Ministry, “dismissed from the central place it must enjoy.”  Read the following list and evaluate for yourself whether or not this describes you:

  • You often lack joy.
  • You’re not consistently growing in spiritual maturity.
  • Your love for God lacks passion.
  • You’re always looking for some new technique, some “new truth” or new experience to pull all the pieces of your faith together.

In expounding upon 1 Corinthians 15:1-3, Mahaney writes the following:

Nothing else – not even things that are biblical and honorable – are of equal or greater importance than this: God sent His Son to the cross to bear His wrath for sinners like you and me. If there’s anything we should be passionate about, it’s the gospel.  And I don’t mean passionate only about sharing it with others; I mean passionate in (daily) thinking about the gospel, reflecting upon it, rejoicing in it, allowing it to color the way we look at the world and all of life (14-15).

Leave a Reply

