My Idol Factory

8 Oct

As I was began preparing today for this Sunday’s upcoming sermon on idolatry (Galatians 4:8-10), God, in His inexplicable mercies, had it in His mind to not simply allow me to study this topic as if I had no idols in my life to repent of.  In fact (and this is the depth to which my depravity goes), when He began to show/convict me, through the Holy Spirit, some of the idols which I bow down to in my life, I was unwilling to repent of them.

Needless to say, preparing for this sermon has beaten me up.  And something tells me that God’s not done yet.  But praise God that He has, yet again, begun this seemingly never-ending process of beating me down and taking me to the cross.

Anyway, for your edification, here’s a link to several resources that has to do with the issue of idolatry.  I would recommend the articles by Tim Keller, C.J. Mahaney, David Powlison as they do much work with what idolatry looks like in the 21st century.

Also, for anybody in ministry, I would most definitely recommend this sermon by Mark Driscoll from the Advance 09 conference that was held in Durham, North Carolina in June.  You can also find the rest of the messages from the conference here.

Allow me to leave you with a quote from John Owen that I heard quoted by Matt Chandler not too long ago.  I hope it serves you well, as it did me.

Herein would I live; — herein would I die; — hereon would I dwell in my thoughts and affections, to the withering and consumption of all the painted beauties of this world, unto the crucifying all things here below, until they become unto me a dead and deformed thing, no way meet for affectionate embraces.

Leave a Reply

